Skip to content

Banana Oat Bread

July 22, 2013

This month the Random Recipe Challenge over at Belleau Kitchen was 30 so I did as I was told, counted to 30 along my recipe bookshelf and counted 30pages in. The resulting recipe is one from Favorite Recipes from Hestercombe’s Tea Rooms.

I have never been to Hestercombe, which is just near Taunton in Somerset,  though having read about the 3 gardens which spans a range of types of garden design I think I’d like to. If you’ve been there, I’d be interested to know what it’s like. I was given the recipe book when a very lovely lady at work was having a clear out and as yet I hadn’t made anything from it. It’s got some great classics, but no pictures as it’s a fairly home-spun affair.

oat and banana easy cake

Banana Oat Bread

I think I can imagine sitting in front of an imposing stately home looking out over the rose gardens and having a slice of this with a cup of earl grey. Would you care to take tea with me?

Just one slice?

Banana Oat Bread
from Favourite Recipes from Hestercombe’s Tea Rooms devised and collected by Christine Pitman

150g plain flour
50g rolled oats
100g light brown sugar
1tsp baking powder
1tsp bicarbonate of soda
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
2 eggs, beaten
2 medium bananas, mashed
150g golden syrup
45ml sunflower oil

Topping
30ml golden syrup, melted
1/4 tsp cinnamon + 30ml granulated sugar mixed together

Preheat oven to 160c / 350f /gas mark 3

Put all the dry ingredients into a bowl and mix.
In another bowl mix the eggs, bananas, syrup and oil.
Stir the wet mixture into the dry.
Pour into a lined loaf tin.
Bake for 40-50mins (test with a skewer – it will depend on your bananas a bit)

When cool, remove from tin, brush with melted golden syrup and sprinkle the cinnamon/sugar mixture over the top.

This is my entry for the 30th Random Recipes challenge run by Dom at Belleau Kitchen

f9c7d-randomrecipes2

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2013 10:05 pm

    it’s just so dark and luscious… I love how caramelly it looks and I bet it tasted sublime… thanks so much for this beautiful entry, always such a nice thing to see your entry x (sounds filthy but it’s not supposed to be!)

    • July 22, 2013 10:32 pm

      Thanks Dom. I didn’t bother with the cinnamon topping as it was good enough on its own.

  2. July 22, 2013 10:23 pm

    I love the addition of oats and syrup in this bread – a change from the usual banana read.

  3. July 22, 2013 10:24 pm

    LOL – That was supposed to say banana bread not ‘read’.

    • July 22, 2013 10:31 pm

      What’s worse is, I hadn’t noticed until you pointed it out.

  4. July 23, 2013 2:12 pm

    but.. you don’t say if you like it!!!

    • July 31, 2013 8:25 am

      You are right. My bad! Well, A girl at work said “it’s the best banana bread I’ve ever tasted – I’ve made loads and can never get it so moist and tasty”
      So I guess that’s a yes!! Yeah I really liked it. I’m not sure it needs the topping. It freezes brilliantly

  5. July 24, 2013 6:14 am

    Yes, I’m curious too! Was it as good as it sounds?

    • July 31, 2013 8:26 am

      I refer you to the reply to Lynne….yep, it’s rather good …and almost healthy?!

  6. July 24, 2013 4:28 pm

    I love banana bread. My husband loves banana bread. One to try! And I love the random recipe challenge too… Must take part!

  7. July 31, 2013 12:53 am

    All great and simple ingredients that most will have in their cupboard, no wonder this was a favourite. Must pin this one for later.

  8. makeycakey permalink
    July 31, 2013 6:39 pm

    This looks awesome – my favourite sort of cakes are tea loaves like this. Plus, it’s got no dairy in it which is a win in our house – I’ve bookmarked it!

  9. July 31, 2013 11:15 pm

    Oh this looks right up my street! Delicious!

Leave a comment