Skip to content

Foodie Penpals – how to try new things in a fun way

March 30, 2013

This month I took part for the first time in Foodie Penpals. Each month everyone is partnered up, they swap any dietary requirements and then post out a parcel of up to £10 in value. The idea is that you experience new things, other peoples favourites and treats that you wouldn’t buy yourself. Brilliant! This month I was sent a parcel by Wilhelmina, who was also a first timer and who blogs at http://www.ant-steps.tumblr.com. I wish she could have heard my squeals of delight when I opened the package. She sent me …..

Image

A sushi starter kit:
sushi rolling mat
sushi rice
rice vinegar
wasabi paste
nori sheets

and

plaintain crisps
hot chocolate spoons with marshmallows
Grenadan spicy beetroot chutney from Tan Rosie

I have been wanting to try making sushi for ages but couldn’t really justify buying the stuff. Can’t wait to have a go – I’ll keep you posted.
I am a banana chip lover (I refer you back to picking the nicest bits out of granola), and plantain chips are ace – like a slightly more savoury version.
No big-up needed for the hot chocolate. Yum.
I’m looking forward to having the chutney with a nice string cheese that I was given for my birthday.
Thankyou very much Wilhelmina. Now I just nervously wait to find out what Nina of spencersarc.com thought of the goodies I sent her

The Lean Green Bean
4 Comments leave one →
  1. cakeandcalico permalink
    April 1, 2013 9:06 am

    What an awesome idea! Look forward to hearing about the outcome of your experiments… 😀

  2. April 1, 2013 11:37 pm

    Fantastic lookin box!

  3. May 11, 2013 1:29 am

    This looks great! Plaintain crisps sounds so yummy! I just found foodie pen pals and can’t wait until I can do it next month!

  4. Gary permalink
    May 22, 2013 9:51 pm

    what a great idea – but cannot believe you got all of that for a £10 spend?

Leave a comment