Skip to content

Simple Chocolate Cookies for Valentine’s Day

February 14, 2012

Ok ok, I’ve been slack lately but there’s things afoot that I can’t tell you about until they happen. These things-which-are-afoot mean a combination of less time and less money, but only in a very happy manner.

Enough of the excuses and onto the baking.

Love you all

I’m not going to pass comment on Valentine’s day (except to say that I think TT3D is an entirely acceptable film for such an evening) but I am going to share these super-simple sprinkle heart-shaped chocolate cookies (say that after a glass of bubbly). I’ll level with you: they’re not the tastiest or most decadent cookies ever but they hold their shape very well, which means no mangled hearts, and that can only be a good thing on such a day. They are perfectly good though for a nibble, they are pretty foolproof and I think they’d be ideal for placing in the top of a valentine’s sundae.

Have a heart

Chocolate Sprinkle Cookies
from Marks & Spencer’s Easy Baking

Makes 30 (best to freeze half)

225g butter, softened
140g caster sugar (I used soft brown for more taste)
1 egg yolk, lightly beaten
2 tsp vanilla (I didn’t have any)
225g plain flour
55g cocoa powder
pinch of salt
A good amount of whatever sprinkles you want in there!
 

For the top:
200g melted chocolate (white looks pretty but I only had milk)
85g Vermicelli or a selection of valentines-y sprinkles

Cream butter and sugar together
Beat in the egg yolk and vanilla
Sift together the flour, cocoa and salt and mix into the wet mixture until combined
If adding sprinkles or choc-chips to the mixture do so now. Mix well.
Half the dough , roll each piece into a ball, wrap in clingfilm and refrigerate for 30-60mins to firm up.
Preheat oven to 190c/375f/Gas Mark 5
Grease baking trays and line with paper.
Roll out the dough between two pieces of baking parchment until 5mm thick. 
Cut out the cookies and put them on the baking trays a little distance apart.
Bake for 10-12 minutes and then leave to cool for 10 before transferring to wire racks.

Melt chocolate and spread or splatter over cookies
Sprinkle on the sprinkles (surprise!)

I’m entering this for the valentine’s Tea Time Treats hosted by Kate and Karen

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2012 1:35 pm

    BEAUTIFUL entry and STUNNING photos! LOVE this ROMANTIC entry thanks Gill and they are such lovely looking cookies too! Karen xx

  2. February 14, 2012 6:50 pm

    very very cute 🙂

  3. February 15, 2012 7:21 am

    Cute little cookies! I could happily munch several on top of a sundae, Valentine’s Day or not…

    • March 2, 2012 2:07 am

      …and there’s still half the dough in my freezer. Instant YUM!

  4. February 18, 2012 6:30 pm

    These are super cute!!

  5. February 26, 2012 9:41 am

    Ohhh! Tell us the news- blooming heck how nosy am I?! This are just perfect cookies- thanks ever so much Gill for baking ’em up for us!

  6. February 26, 2012 8:30 pm

    These are really cute!! I like the idea of drizzling over the top and then adding the sprinkles!

    Re the cake club, the next one is on Thursday 29th March, if you go onto the website and then go to courses… it’s at the bottom of March. Ironically, the theme is ‘anything goes…except chocolate’.

    • March 2, 2012 2:03 am

      Oooh that’s my husband’s 30th Birthday. I think I might lose wife-points if I leave him for a cake gathering that day. Bother!

  7. February 28, 2012 12:59 am

    These are very attractive cookies. Thanks for sharing. Allen.

Trackbacks

  1. Frugal Food Fridays « Tales of pigling bland

Leave a comment